X-Plane 10 and Windows 10: How Do They Get Along?

x-plane10
Humboldt Bay in X-plane 10 (without HD Scenery Mesh)

So I made the plunge and installed Windows 10….four times.   Why four times?  Because I am a tinkerer and the OS didn’t exactly go on my machine (AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 945 Processor, 3000 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 8 gb ram, gts 250 graphics)  without trouble but that’s a story for another day and another blog.  So what does this have to do with X-plane 10 you ask?  It is related as I hope becomes apparent in a moment.   See, I had been dual-booting with windows 8.1 and windows 7.  And more recently had been dual booting Windows 7 with Windows 10 technical preview until it would no longer update on my computer.  Nevertheless, it has been my experience that X-plane 10 seemed to run more stable for me in Windows 7 so that is where I usually launched the sim from.   (In Windows 8 the game had randomly closed or the OS would bump me back to the infamous metro start menu screen. )

So here comes Windows 10 and because I like to tinker with computer software, I took my time deciding whether I wanted to install over windows 7 (home premium) and get Windows 10 home or Windows 8.1 pro making the OS windows 10 pro.  I have since tried both and have decided to stick with Windows 10 pro.    Now X-plane 10 was previously installed on my computer so when Windows 10 was completed I attempted to launch X-plane straight up.  You guessed it—it crashed.  Naturally I figured there was a conflict with the new OS.   However, I rightly decided to reinstall X-plane 10 and complete the beta updates.  Now my machine is not a beast (probably more comparable to a domestic house cat) but I am happy to report X-plane 10.40b10 has run quite well so far!  I definitely believe the guys behind the code of X-plane 10 are making X-plane 10 better and better with each new update.

x-planerender
X-Plane 10 Render Settings Window

Related Interest:

Developer’s Blog: http://developer.x-plane.com/2015/08/major-os-upgrade-what-could-go-wrong/

FlyWithLua plugin: http://forums.x-plane.org/index.php?app=downloads&showfile=17468

Real Terra Haze script: http://forums.x-plane.org/index.php?app=downloads&showfile=22387

Leave a Reply

