Is “the Kure” computer software really safe or another scam?

security-265130_1280

Update:  While I still won’t recommend this product for reasons mentioned in my post, I do want to note this review I located  here on PC Magazine’s website.

Additional note:  the Kure does not claim to be anti-Virus software

 Is “the Kure” computer antivirus software really safe or another scam?

What’s This About?

You may have heard about the computer software simply called “the Kure” marketed as the non-antivirus antivirus cure for your computer.  The Kure is supposed to keep viruses from infecting your computer or even touching your files.   I hadn’t heard of the Kure until I viewed a recent infomercial featuring its supposed miracle protection.

And not only is it suppose to be amazing at keeping your computer safe, the infomercial apparently demonstrated the Kure in a YouTube video doing this very thing with a supposed live virus.  So this got me wondering.  I imagine software as fantastic as this must have many great positive reviews and testimonies from average computer users like us touting its greatness.  So I decided to do a google search using the terms, the kure reviews, the kure antivirus and the kure software review, etc.   The hits or hit surprised me.  Besides the developer’s own websites (thekure.com) appearing at the top of the results page,   I saw one other link near the bottom of the search results referring to this software.   This sole link contained a brief over-view of the software and a negative comment.    If results like that doesn’t cause a person to be excited for this software…..well, just count me out.

Is The Software Safe?

So now two questions remain:  Where are all the users for this great software?   And where are the reviews from reputable online magazines, blog sites and computer users like you and me?   Personally I would not want to place this software or any software on my computer without first getting trusted assurance from others it’s safe.   And neither should you.    How do we know it’s not really a virus or malware itself masquerading as your savior from them.

And so in my opinion without seeing user’s experience with “the Kure” and many positive reputable reviews I think it will be hard to sell such a product, let alone market it as great and trustworthy.

Image source

31 thoughts on “Is “the Kure” computer software really safe or another scam?

  1. ed mohler March 24, 2016 / 2:09 pm

    thank you for this review. what is the best antivirus

    Liked by 1 person

    • TimsBlogs March 26, 2016 / 1:27 pm

      There are many good companies out there but I don’t have experience enough to say which is best. I would recommend doing a top ten search on google and reading the reviews for the software that comes up. I use Avast and have been happy with the free version for a non business computer. If you need a more sure solution you probably should get the retail version for whatever software you choose.

      Like

    • Edward DeLay December 18, 2016 / 9:13 pm

      honestly this software has been around forever under the name sandbox, it is like an area on your computer that is walled in and no matter what you do while online everything stays in the sand box not in your operating system. once you are done with your session online and log out of your ot the motel computer it simply erases everything in the sand box, the next time you start the system up you get a clean boot into an empty sandbox again. I haven’t used “the kure” but maybe they have added some bells and whistles to it. the sandbox is very safe to use and you maybe able to find it still out there.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Edward DeLay December 18, 2016 / 9:29 pm

        an example of sandboxing , https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WZ07lNyPw9Y and the old program is called sandboxie if you need something like it. I believe its very cheap or free. Myself I prefer to use a good antivirus like Eset or even the windows defender. If I remember sandboxie was very restrictive and was good for young kids to use to keep them from messing up your computer, but for myself I use good judgement not to open stuff that don’t really need opened. DON’T BE A SUCKER! lol Hopes this helps

        Like

    • joe February 16, 2017 / 10:14 am

      Hi Ed I saw the Kure ad on TV and purchased the Kure and went to install on Dec 16, 2016, when installing The Kure, my Norton Anti virus notified me that it had blocked a Trojen Gen 2 from being installed. The Kure was attempting to install a Trojen Gen2 onto my computer. I called the so called customer service number 5 times and never got a person and could only leave a message. I have left 3 messages and not one return call. I have not tried to re install. bye the way they tried to charge me twice for this product , a month after the first charge they ran another charge and I had to call the Bank and have that stopped.

      Like

  2. Herb Lansberg October 11, 2016 / 1:36 am

    Since my download thekure has totally messed My new Dell up. Do not use it.

    Like

    • TimsBlogs October 11, 2016 / 1:32 pm

      Thank you Herb for letting readers know. Sorry it messed up your computer. I will be sure to stay clear of it!

      Like

  3. Nick Crawford November 18, 2016 / 10:19 pm

    Me Too, I am too old to understand the computers operating system, and DEFINITELY not smart enough to fix my computer. I have been looking for a very long time to get some type of Anti-Virus/ Malware protection, and before I did anything, I was going to check out the reviews, of this product before purchasing it, (and I’m very glad I did).

    I have purchased several things that were supposed to protect my computer, but nothing has seemed to work, and most of them just gave me MORE issues. So thank you for the review you gave, you just saved me some money.

    Liked by 1 person

    • TimsBlogs November 19, 2016 / 12:12 am

      Nick, Glad this review was helpful. Thank you for your kind words.

      Like

  4. C.M. Lopez November 24, 2016 / 8:47 pm

    I saw the commercial on this product called the “KURE”. This is just another scam designed to entrap people into buying something that does not work, nor have validity, This is simple malicious propaganda . I consulted two friends of mine that are computer programmers about this product. They both told me to stay out of this garbage. This is not an antivirus software either. This is faked malwarebytes and adware removal. Additionally, Pc Magazine is not linked to The KURE , nor support this garbage ad. Please stay away from this. Otherwise, your computer will be on its path for destruction!

    Like

    • TimsBlogs November 25, 2016 / 1:03 am

      thank you for your comment

      Like

    • TimsBlogs November 25, 2016 / 1:08 am

      i actually did find a pc mag review of the Kure as I noted in a update on this post

      Like

  5. David Anderson November 29, 2016 / 11:16 am

    The Kure: deleted my wi-fi, tech support only wanted to access my computer remotely (NO!), so I deleted it and it left crap on my computer, trying to access the internet AFTER I deleted and supeWorst product!!! Do not buy!!!

    Seriously. I just installed it, it killed my wi-fi immeidiately. I had to delete the program, all of it. NOT! I cannot delete the entire program. It refuses to leave my computer by a super-undelete program.

    Customer services only answer: “Let me into your computer”. NOT my computer. NO other answers at all. No answers to any questions except, “Let me into your computer”. Do at your peril.

    Now, I have it coming up every five seconds, it “cannot connect to the internet”. LIke a zombie you kill that still eats your brain. Seriously. No defense except…

    You do exactly what this program does: return your computer to a previous state. Glary Utilities will do this free. Download it, run it. Run it after you have a problem, it is a buried feature. Free.

    The Kure: worse than the problem it is to fix. Yea, from a computer technician. (Expletives).

    PC Magazine, my first google search, came up pretty positive on this product. Shame on them.

    Like

  6. David Jay Anderson November 29, 2016 / 11:18 am

    Worst product!!! Do not buy!!! Seriously. I just installed it, it killed my wi-fi immeidiately. I had to delete the program, all of it. NOT! I cannot delete the entire program. It refuses to leave my computer by a super-undelete program.

    Customer services only answer: “Let me into your computer”. NOT my computer. NO other answers at all. No answers to any questions except, “Let me into your computer”. Do at your peril.

    Now, I have it coming up every five seconds, it “cannot connect to the internet”. LIke a zombie you kill that still eats your brain. Seriously. No defense except…

    You do exactly what this program does: return your computer to a previous state. Glary Utilities will do this free. Download it, run it. Run it after you have a problem, it is a buried feature. Free.

    The Kure: worse than the problem it is to fix. Yea, from a computer technician. (Expletives).

    Like

  7. Larry Green December 10, 2016 / 6:40 pm

    Just downloaded the kure on my computer. So far no problems as I know of. Will keep you posted.

    Like

    • TimsBlogs December 10, 2016 / 9:33 pm

      Thank you Larry for your comment….do let me know how it works

      Like

  8. Fred Zimmer December 12, 2016 / 6:29 am

    Tim, I never heard of “AVAST”. Does it take care ov\f most viruses and malware? I currently use the free versions of AVG and Malwarebytes and they seem to be doing OK. Fred

    Like

    • TimsBlogs December 12, 2016 / 1:22 pm

      thank you Fred for your comment. I have used the free version of Avast for a few years and it seemed to work well for stopping viruses only. You might want to do search on Avast and see how others like it. Lately i have gone stictly to using Windows 10 Defender for simplicity, it is free and because it is cloud based ( it requires minimal software on the computer for it to work). Malwarebytes is good for malware only.

      Like

  9. john December 26, 2016 / 4:32 am

    Avast can be found and downloader at cnet.com

    Like

  10. John January 8, 2017 / 11:57 pm

    Avast includes Sandbox in the paid version, not sure about the free version. Been there for years.

    Like

  11. Sharon D. February 10, 2017 / 5:26 pm

    paid $125 for cure. Said it does not cover any virus on my computer that were there before downloaded the Kure. Said it cost $50 to clean oui those previous viruses. I felt I had no choice, so said o.k. A few minutes later, Chad said it $34.99. Actually was charged $39.99. Tried to log onto support and said it was closed. Advertises as being open for help until 9 p.m. Am going to try to get $ back from my bank. DOES ANYONE KNOW HOW TO COMPLETELY REMOVE FROM MY COMPUTER. Users say impossible to remove the whole program. PLEASE HELP>

    Like

    • TimsBlogs February 10, 2017 / 10:20 pm

      Sharon thank you for comment and sorry you are having this experience. You might try a local trusted computer shop in your area, they should be able to help with complete virus/malware removal.

      Like

    • Neil Williams April 12, 2017 / 9:08 am

      Buy a new hard drive. You may lose everything but, your pc will be like new.

      Like

  12. Jason February 28, 2017 / 8:43 pm

    The Kure is garbage… complete load of BS… sandboxing isn’t a savior to malware or hackers…. This is a BS spamertisement of fraudulent baseless statements to scam people into blowing their dollars… this is for the ignorant masses that don’t understand technology or security… there is no such thing as 100% guarantee for virus protection

    Like

  13. Jason February 28, 2017 / 8:59 pm

    The Kure is compatible to saying a microwave can charge your computer… trust us… 100% guarantee charge… you’ll be amazed at how fast it charges… WOW… amazing fast speed charge… all you need is a general home microwave…. OMG…works every single time… if your home microwave can’t charge your computer, we’ll replace your home microwave… power engineering expert testimony says this is the best way to charge your computer… you’ll never go back to charging through a power cable again

    Like

  14. Paul April 12, 2017 / 9:54 pm

    I installed theKure on Friday night(4/7).
    That was the last time my laptop worked.
    Windows explorer is all messed up. I can’t us the taskbar, can’t get to the start button, Trying to get various programs to work, causes all the icons on my desktop to vanish.
    And a PC with an unusable taskbar and no desktop icons ….
    I was able to get into Control Panel after numerous rebooting. Even after uninstalling theKure it keeps coming back!
    I even ran a System Restore from a month ago. Looks like a complete rebuild.

    Like

    • TimsBlogs April 13, 2017 / 12:10 am

      Thank you for commenting Paul. I hope you can get your computer back to running normal soon.

      Like

      • Paul Itzko May 12, 2017 / 11:04 pm

        I emailed the support address for the Kure. A tech called me back the next day. Because I was at work and my laptop was at home, the gentleman gave me his direct number. The next day I brought my laptop to work with me and and called the techs’ number.
        To make a long story short, He didn’t have to log into my laptop. From my description of the problem he determined that windows explorer was corrupt.
        He had me create a new user. I then was able to log in and he gave me steps to disable TheKure. Once that was done I then had the ability to get into Control Panel and delete TheKure using Ashampoo Uninstaller, removing all traces of the program.
        I got my money refunded. I still cringe when seeing the words “TheKure”.

        I still don’t know if it was a coincidence that Windows Explorer decided to have a brain fart as I installed the program or the program caused the problem.

        Like

      • TimsBlogs May 13, 2017 / 2:31 am

        thank you Paul for the comment. You may be onto something with the win explorer corruption coincidence. I am not using the Kure but have seen win explorer (windows desktop environment) crash and do weird things especially on windows 10.

        Like

  15. Robert Holt April 14, 2017 / 1:08 pm

    I have purchased 2 (two) anti- virus (the kure I have only received one,but you have charged and you received my money. I suspect a scam please respond . My name is Robert Holt, E-Mail address is (pope28@volcano.net).My address is P.o. Box 789, West Point,Ca.,95258

    Like

    • TimsBlogs April 14, 2017 / 4:02 pm

      Thanks for your comment Mr. Holt. You might contact the company directly if you suspect a scam.

      Like

Leave a Reply

