Minnesota Undercover – A short story – Part Seven

Stone_Arch_Bridge_-_Minneapolis

Minnesota Undercover – Part Seven

Tim D. McConnaughy Jr.

 

 

We continued walking along side agent Da Voy as he led us to each of our rooms. We passed four elevator doors on both sides of us and then I noticed rows of doors lined one after another throughout the long hall. It looked as if we had arrived at another hotel but this time by helicopter. As we passed a few more doors I noticed each door had a curious white letter and number combination printed on the front. I was contemplating the meaning of the letters and numbers when agent Da Voy stopped in front of door 2COR 520-1249.  He told us that this would be Natalie’s room and the room directly across from her was to be mine. Jacob would be in the room next to Natalie’s. The agent then handed us each an electronic room access card and told us we would find changes of clothes that may or may not fit among other amenities inside our room. My room number was 2COR 520-1250.

 

I carefully held my room card up to the door in front of me. The door clicked and opened automatically. I entered the room to see a plush looking gray and brown colored bed complete with pillows and towels folded neatly on the corner of the bed. On one side of the bed was a desk and on the other side a small two drawer end table. I noticed a book sitting on the desk so I walked over to get a closer look. I was surprised to see the book wasn’t an ordinary book, but appeared to be a Bible. At first glance, I figured I must be mistaken since it seemed to me that the government had been growing increasingly hostile toward Christians. Just the thought of having a Bible in a government command center seemed to me to be completely unlikely! I took a closer look at the book cover and noticed the words Holy Bible neatly printed on the front in gold letters. Sure enough it was a Bible and I was thankful it was here.

On the opposite side of the room, I noticed a closed door. I walked over to open it revealing a rack of various business style pants, shirts, ties and suits. My eye caught some vibrant colored golf shirts with two buttons near the collar. I ran my right hand between a couple suit coat sets, then between a pair of nice looking slacks. As I stood staring at the clean rack of clothes I was again amazed I was even here. I wondered if any of the clothes would fit so I quickly pulled a navy blue suit coat jacket off the hanger and put it on. The sleeves went over my arms with ease and I felt as if I was worth almost a million bucks. I reached out my arms in front of my chest and noticed the sleeves on the jacket nearly covered my entire hand. Clearly the suit coat was a little big. I tried on one of the vibrantly colored shirts labeled large. Now I like loose fitting shirts but this one must have been a double extra large masquerading as a large because it was so big it almost reached my knees! I turned and noticed a full-length mirror mounted to a door just to the right of the clothes closet. The door was slightly open. I opened it some more and a couple white lights came on. I entered the space revealing a brightly lit marble tile bathroom complete with porcelain sink, toilet and a walk-in shower. It was truly a sight to behold!

Upon exiting the luxurious bathroom, in the far corner of the guest room my eyes caught a chest high refrigerator up against the wall. I walked over to it to see if anything was inside. I was surprised at what I saw when I opened it. It was stocked full of gourmet looking meat sandwiches, and a couple large fruit trays. This might be better than the Ritz, I thought. I noticed some bottled water on a shelf inside the refrigerator along with a 6-pack of cherry cola. I was glad the food was there because I was well past hungry. I grabbed what looked to be a turkey and lettuce sandwich on wheat bread. I quickly thanked God for providing the food and the fine sleeping quarters. Then I heard a knock on my door.

I rushed over to the door to see who was there. I opened the door to see Russell standing in the doorway.

“I wanted to be sure to mention that the clothes in the closet probably do not fit,” he said, “but in the case that they do, feel free to wear anything that suits your fancy.”

I quickly gave Russell some proper measurements for a dark blue suit and some slacks and expressed my gratefulness. Before he left, Russell then told me we would be meeting together in the anti-terrorism briefing room at 5:30a.m the next morning. He also assured me that any questions I might have for why we had been brought there would be answered at the briefing along some other intelligence details.

Now I was indeed thankful to have a place to sleep but with the horrific events of the day still fresh in my mind, I wondered just how much sleep I’d actually get. I was expecting a long extended night of tossing and turning in an unfamiliar bed. And yet I must have been more tired than I realized because the last thing I remembered after reading some Bible verses, praying and taking a quick shower, was turning off the light.

I was fast asleep when I heard what I thought was a knock at the door. That’s strange, my alarm hasn’t even gone off yet. I had set the alarm for 4:45 a.m. Early room service perhaps?

“Just a minute!” I called out, despite feeling utterly exhausted.

I slowly climbed out of bed and put on a navy blue robe I had found hanging in the bathroom. I imagined how tired I must have looked because I felt more tired than a bear that had been tranquilized more than a few times. Were my eyes even opened? I wondered.

I sluggishly walked toward the door and opened it to see whoever might have been knocking. That’s when I saw him. A large hairy headed man was standing in the doorway. He must have been between 7 or 8 feet tall and was wearing a dark gray suit, white shirt and navy blue tie. Then I noticed what was in his hands. The giant like man was holding a stick about the length of a yardstick in one hand and gun in the other. I wonder what the stick is for?I thought. Suddenly he began to whack me with the stick! I tried to block his wild swings with my arms by putting them in front of me but the stick seemed to go right through my arms! With each swing of the stick I expected pain but there was none. Was I dead? I tried to cry out for help but he just kept swinging that stick. I made a fist with my hand and gave him a quick jab toward his head. I must have missed because again I felt nothing. It was almost like he wasn’t really there. I was about to give him a kick in the legs when I suddenly awoke. I was lying on my bed nearly drenched in sweat. A nightmare, I concluded. Then I heard a knock on the door.

I quickly glanced up at a digital clock mounted on the wall. 4:40 a.m…. Wow, just five minutes before my alarm was set to go off! I threw on a blue shirt and some slacks from a set of clothes I had laid out the night before. I opened the door to see a man of medium stature and a military style crew cut standing at the door. The man was dressed in a navy blue suit with a white shirt and blue tie with a diagonal black striped design. He was holding a fresh stack of folded clothes along with a couple of suits on hangers.

“Here is the replacement suit you asked for and some other clothes to get you started.” he said. I thanked the man and he started to walk away. Then I remembered I was suppose to meet at the anti-terrorism briefing room but had no idea where that was so I immediately decided to ask.

“I believe Russell or another agent will plan to take you there by 5:15.” He said. I thanked him and closed the door. Then I started to get dressed and ready to go.

As the time approached to go to the briefing, I was able to read some Bible scriptures and ask God for guidance and direction for whatever He had in store for the day ahead. I ate a sausage and egg sandwich I had found in the room’s refrigerator.

Now it was nearly exactly 5:15a.m. and I had yet to hear anyone knock on the door so I took the liberty upon myself to venture outside my room. I opened the door and went into the hallway. I glanced down the hallway in time to see Russell coming toward me. He immediately saw me and shot a quick grin.

“Couldn’t wait for the official call, huh?” He said chuckling.

“Well I’m ready to go.” I said trying my best to hide some nervousness. He turned around to knock on the door that was behind him. Natalie opened the door and smiled. She had a cheery glow about her that seemed to encircle the three of us.

“Hello, Miss Graham!” Russell said with a touch of enthusiasm in his voice. He moved to the door next to hers and knocked. A minute later Jacob opened the door. He was wearing a familiar dark blue suit similar to what he had on the night before. Natalie was wearing a gray pant suit, a light colored blouse and black ankle strap dress sandals. She looked ready for the runway at a fashion show except that wasn’t why we were there. Russell asked if we were ready.  We told him we were and together the three of us walked down the wide hallway after him.

It almost felt like we were in a modern version of “The Wizard Oz” walking together as we were were down a yellow brick road, except we weren’t. And yet the lyrics from a familiar song overtook my thoughts. “We’re off to see the wizard, the wonderful wizard of Oz.”  The song began to trickle through my mind and then we stopped walking. Russell had stopped by a cluster of elevators. The four of us took the first elevator that opened. Once inside Russell asked us how our night was.

“This is no 5-star hotel,” he said with a slight grin, “but we do our best.”

Natalie told us she was extremely grateful to be able to be here especially because she didn’t have enough money for a hotel. She told us she was able to read the Bible in her room and that God had been showing her a few things. Jacob mentioned that he was also thankful for the comfortable accommodations. The elevator took us up a few more floors, then it stopped again and the doors opened on the 6th floor.  For a simple rustic log cabin looking building this command center appeared bigger inside than what it looked to be from the outside.

When we exited the elevator, the three of us followed Russell as he made some right and left turns down some shorter hallways. Then he came to a gray double-door entrance and stopped to short of it. The words Anti-Terrorism and Intelligence were printed in black on a silver nameplate just to the right of two metallic looking doors. Russell held up his ID card in front of the doorway, the doors opened and we followed him inside.

The Anti-Terrorism and Intelligence Briefing room was spacious and in the middle of the large room I noticed a seemingly perfectly centered conference table. A few dozen padded office style chairs were neatly aligned and arranged around the outside of the table as a large wide flat screen monitor could be seen mounted on the wall in the front of the room. Scanning the room I noticed three more display monitors mounted on the far side wall. Behind the half octagon shaped table were a couple rows of chairs. As Russell led us into the room he told us we could sit down in any row. We each took a seat in the first three chairs on the front row.

Sitting down I glanced to my right and noticed next to the last few rows of chairs was a buffet table. Laid out neatly on the table were a couple rows of food and drink. There were trays of cut fruit, boxes of donuts, coffee, juice and various croissant rolls all of which seemed to be begging us to come and eat! Russell seemed to be reading my thoughts again because he quickly told us to help ourselves to anything on the buffet table.

“We should be starting in a few minutes.” Russell said.

I took the opportunity and walked over to get a closer look at the breakfast buffet. I grabbed a napkin from the end of the table along with a large cream filled glazed doughnut from one of the boxes. Then I made my way back to my chair. I glanced around the room at the many empty chairs that circled the table. I noticed there were only a handful of other men seated. The men were dressed in dark gray suits. Where was everybody? I wondered, then all of sudden the doors opened and a couple dozen men and women dressed in similar elite fashion entered the room. The men wore crisp black or dark gray suits and the women were wearing navy blue or black suit coats and skirts. Some of the men and women filled the empty seats around the table and others sat down on the chairs that lined the far side of the briefing room. As the group of men and women entered I noticed one of the men separate from the group. He made his way to front of the room. The man was short and was wearing a tailored charcoal-gray suit over a crisp white shirt. He had on a silky solid colored blue tie and shiny black shoes. His hair was bronze in color with a slightly greasy shimmer. I noticed he had dark bushy eyebrows and was wearing a dark brown fedora hat. The hat looked especially familiar.

 

To Be Continued…..Find out what happens next in Minnesota Undercover – Part Eight

 

Missed Part One of the story? Start at the beginning.

Part Two

Part Three

Part Four

Part Five

Part Six

 


Disclaimer:

Minnesota Undercover is a work of fiction. With the exception of well-known historical figures and events, all names, characters, businesses, places, events and incidents contained in this story are either the products of the author’s imagination or used in a fictitious manner. Any resemblance to actual persons, living or dead, or actual events is purely coincidental.

 


Unless noted otherwise all scripture quotations found in this story are from the New King James Version of the Bible.

 


A note to my readers:  Your input is welcomed and strongly encouraged for this particular writing project.  While the substance and core of this story (particularly the Gospel will not change) I acknowledge this story is indeed a work in progress.  Should you come across punctuation, continuity, spelling and grammar related errors, etc or can/want to help me get this story officially published (without obligation) I would like to hear from you.   Thank you for your support and encouragement.

Related
image source
Leave a Reply

