Summer 2017: Why I (still) Don’t Use Microsoft Edge Browser

 

browsers

UPDATED      The creator’s update for Microsoft Windows 10 has been released which is a feature update for the operating system.  Still missing though is the ability to sync Microsoft’s Edge browser while keeping a local account.  In January of this year I discussed why I won’t use the Microsoft Edge browser hoping this issue might be addressed.  Yes Microsoft, I refuse to use an online Microsoft account for my entire computer.  I save most of my files to an external hard drive thank you very much.


Default Browser

Like many people, I now use Windows 10 and lately it has been “complaining” about which browser I use–or rather don’t use.  You see, I use the Firefox browser which isn’t the Microsoft Windows 10 default.  The default for Windows 10 is Microsoft Edge (which replaced or is supposed to replace Internet Explorer).    So why have I, like many other people, not jumped to the new Edge browser?  After all Edge is fast, now supports addons, and lets you “draw” on the screen!

Browser Syncing

Aside from seeing by default Microsoft’s blatant left leaning propaganda page masquerading as a “news” page, there is another reason I do not use the Edge browser.  That reason is Syncing.   You may use syncing already with the browser you use.   Syncing allows one to save favorites, history, passwords, etc, to the browser within the cloud.   This sync of settings and favorites allows one to get access (by signing into the browser) to the settings and links from any computer running your favorite browser.  The trouble with Edge is that unlike the Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome browsers, Microsoft Edge does not allow one to sync only the browser.  If you want to save your favorites and settings, you must create an account with Microsoft and log the entire Windows 10 computer into the cloud.

windows_8_microsoft_account_dialog

This is where I draw the line.  I want access to my browser settings, not my entire computer!  (if you know of a way to sync only the browser let me know)  So until Microsoft allows me to log-in/sign-in to just the browser, I will not be using Edge to browse the internet.

By the way, do you save your passwords in browser sync?  That is one option I would not be syncing (for obvious safety reasons).

If you appreciate this post feel free to comment.

 


Know your Windows 10 Key

Edge

Firefox

Chrome

FullyFreeFilms

Audacity Movie – Must see

Police 10-13

Original post –Why I don’t use Edge browser


Image source 1 personal screenshot ; source 2

Leave a Reply

