Is iOS 11 control center WiFi toggle overriding user settings?

 

apple-1867991_1920

I like my iPhone but with the introduction of iOS 11, I have found that WiFi is apparently overriding user manual settings in the control center.

I may be one of only a few people who care but I like the convenience of being able to turn my WiFi ON or OFF from the control center on my iPhone and have it stay that way (in this case OFF).  With iOS 10 this has always been expected behavior but with Apple’s newly introduced iOS 11,  I have found something else is occurring.

I have noticed that toggling the WiFi OFF from the control center turns off the WiFi only temporarily before the setting is overridden and comes back on AUTOMATICALLY.  Why?  I turned it off on purpose, so why should it come back on?   Perhaps I have toggled an incorrect setting from within the iPhone?  Let’s take a closer look.

As far as I can tell, my settings are set the same as when I was using iOS 10 except for a new setting called AUTO-JOIN.

Auto-Join and manual override in iOS 11?

Perhaps it is AUTO-JOIN where-in the trouble lies.  I believe when AUTO-JOIN is toggled ON, it is keeping the user from disconnecting from WiFi from the control center.  However, if this is the case, I don’t think it should work this way.  Being able to connect to known WiFi networks AUTOMATICALLY is a great feature, that is, when it’s toggled ON already but when WiFi is toggled OFF (from the control center), I believe it should STAY off! And why shouldn’t it?

ios_11_wifi_override

 

If this overriding behavior is occurring in iOS 11 then it would seem to me that this is just another step in Apple’s and technology companies overreaching into our lives.  For many, overriding manual settings is not acceptable behavior and it shows how much privacy is increasingly become less important from a business stand point.  What else has Apple already implemented on their devices that will override a customer’s manual settings?

If you agree or not with my assessment, please comment below.

 


 

iOS 11’s Bluetooth and Wi-Fi controls don’t actually turn off

Dangerous Trend: Wi-fi turning itself on?

Disabling iPad, iPhone in-app purchases

Audacity Movie

 

 


 

Image source: top image; Middle Image is my own
Leave a Reply

